ANAVETS Shoulder to Shoulder

March 2017

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 7 of 33

T he CFL in conjunction with Veterans Affairs Canada asked The Army, Navy & Air Force Veterans in Canada to be the Association of Honour for CFL Veteran honoured events. Honorary Dominion President Gerry Wharton, MVO, CD served on the CFL committee evaluating and choosing the recipient of the 2016 Jack Gaudaur Veterans' Trophy which is presented annually to the CFL player who best demonstrates the attributes that have always defined Canada's veterans: Strength, Perseverance, Courage, Comradeship, and Contribution to Canadian communities. In the Eastern and Western Semi-finals the Association was honoured to provide the honour guard as well as someone to take part in the official coin toss. The Association was represented by the following Veterans in the Eastern Semi-final in Hamilton Ontario. Ontario Provincial Vice President, Gord MacEachern, Mike Guitard of Stratford Unit #261, Gerry McGovern from York Unit #383 and Joseph and Yvonne Burke, Members at Large from Trenton. The Western Semi-final held in Vancouver BC saw Dominion Past President Gord Marsh take part in the coin toss party, Provincial Vice Presidents Mike MacDonald and Randy Williams alongside BC Provincial Colour Party members William Costain of East Vancouver Unit 68 and Alfred Woo of Pacific Unit #280. Then on November 24th Past Dominion President and Ontario Provincial President Robert R. Cassels alongside Ontario Provincial Presi- dent Gord MacEachern were on hand at the CFL Players Awards to present the Jack Gaudaur Veterans' Trophy to Matt Black of the Toronto Argonauts. We thank all of these Veterans for representing the Association with pride in this year's CFL events. SHOULDER TO SHOULDER 7 ANAVETS chosen as "ASSOCIATION OF HONOUR" for 2016 CFL events The ANAVETS colour party joins Minister of Veterans Affairs Kent Hehr and members of the Canadian Forces, RCMP and Vancouver Fire Fighters for the opening ceremonies of the CFL Western Semi-final. (l to r) Toronto Argonauts defensive back Matt Black is presented the Jack Gaudaur Memorial Trophy by Minister of Veterans Affairs, The Honourable Kent Hehr, Gord MacEachern, Ontario Provincial Vice President and Robert R. Cassels, Ontario Provincial President at the CFL Players awards November 24, 2016. (l to r) Ontario Provincial Vice President Gord MacEachern joins Parliamentary Secretary for Veterans Affairs, Karen McCrimmon, MP and a Mr. Jim Lawson, Chairman of the Board, Canadian Football League prior to the coin toss ceremony at the Eastern Semi-final. (l to r) Alfred Woo, Gord Marsh, Bill Costain, Randy Williams and Mike MacDonald at BC Place stadium prior to the CFL Western semifinal) The ANAVETS colour party joins Parliamentary Secretary of Veterans Affairs Karen McCrimmon and members of the Canadian Forces and RCMP for the opening ceremonies of the CFL Eastern Semi-final in Hamilton.

Articles in this issue

view archives of ANAVETS Shoulder to Shoulder - March 2017