CACP Bulletin

Fall 2017

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 5 of 13

CACP 3 Fall 2017 Individual awards were presented to Detective Constable Michael Kelly and Detective Constable Timothy Trotter, Toronto Police Service. The Group Award was presented to Detective Alec Tompras, York Regional Police; Detective Constable Paul Mills, Toronto Police Service; Detective Stephen Smith, Toronto Police Service; Detective Joe Matys, Toronto Police Service; Detective Constable Dan Moore, York Regional Police; Detective Sebastian Cultrera, York Regional Police; Detective Sergeant Pat Kellar, Belleville Police Service; Detective Constable Alan MacEwan, Halton Police Service; Detective Constable Amy Sharpe, Cobourg Police Service. The 2017 award recipients is the IntegratedCounterfeit Enforcement Team, C Division (Quebec) RCMP for Operation Coupon. Their teamwork led to three arrests, the dismantling of four counterfeiting labs and the seizure of almost 4,200 counterfeit notes valued at over $400,000. This counterfeiting ring introduced over 9,600 fake bank notes into circulation, defrauding businesses and individuals of almost $1 million. CANADIAN BANKERS ASSOCIATION LAW ENFORCEMENT AWARD Calgary Police Service's investigative team led by Staff Sergeant Shane Plamondon was recognized for their investigation which started out as a single-homicide investigation, morphed into a double-homicide investigation and then into an international drug trafficking operation. The investigative team worked with the California and Washington Drug Enforcement Agencies, Halifax Police, and Washington State police to lay charges for the homicides and seize significant quantities of cocaine and methamphetamine. CACP INTERNATIONAL POLICING AWARD 2017 award recipients Lieutenant Serge Boivin and Constable Robin Pouliot of the Service de police, Ville de Saint-Jérôme for the creation of an innovative intervention project on "sexting" among youth. MINISTER OF JUSTICE CANADA'S NATIONAL YOUTH JUSTICE POLICING AWARD Chief Trevor McCagherty (Rtd), was recognized for his considerable contributions to policing and the CACP. For the past 15 years, Chief McCagherty served as the Executive Support Officer to the President and the Board of Directors of the CACP. He was a co-founder and senior advisor to the CACP Executive Global Studies Program. CACP RECOGNITION AWARD The National Police Award for Traffic Safety, sponsored by Accident Support Services International Ltd. was presented to Sergeant Kerry Schmidt, OPP for his Public Safety Through Social Media program to deliver safety messaging. The combined Traffic Services Saskatchewan (CTSS), Saskatoon Police Service and the RCMP was recognized as the National Traffic Safety Initiative of the Year. CACP NATIONAL POLICE AWARD FOR TRAFFIC SAFETY Ms Sharon Bollenbach, CEO, Special Olympics and Special Olympian Valerie Gagnon Paradis from Laval Quebec, accept the CACP donation to Special Olympics and announce the 2016 Law Enforcement Torch Run fundraising total of $4,079,186. CACP PRESENTATION TO SPECIAL OLYMPICS CANADA BANK OF CANADA'S LAW ENFORCEMENT AWARD OF EXCELLENCE FOR COUNTERFEIT DETERRENCE The 2017 recipients for the Emergency Preparedness Program are the District of Squamish and Skwxwú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish Nation) who worked together to create a single, unified emergency management partnership to improve resilience across both communities. The 2017 recipients for the Emergency Response Exercise was the Comité aviseur antiterrorisme de Montréal (CAAM) for Exercise 360, a very complex, large-scale, multi-site, and multi-agency anti-terrorism exercise encompassing both operational and strategic levels of decision-making. CACP/MOTOROLA AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS CACP AWARDS

Articles in this issue

view archives of CACP Bulletin - Fall 2017